The 2024 United States Pro Kart Series is underway with a full day of action on Saturday completed at the Speedsportz Racing Park for the Texas Grand Prix. Following a day of practice and qualifying on Friday, all seven categories contested three rounds of heat races at the New Caney, Texas facility. The sun shined down all day with steady wind blowing until the final few heats with overcast conditions closing out a busy schedule.

The Rolison Performance Group X30 Pro category has been the Ryan Norberg show. The three-time defending series champion set fast time in qualifying on Friday and led all three heat races to wins, retaining the pole position for the main event on Sunday. It was a busy day behind Norberg (RPG / Kosmic) with Alessandro de Tullio (Inter MS / Kart Republic), Austin Garrison (SCR / Redspeed) and Donovan Bonilla (RPG / Kosmic) each placing runner-up on the day. Bonilla is set to start second with Garrison and Pauly Massimino (BJR / LN Racing Kart) in fourth while de Tullio starts fifth.

A total of 61 drivers battled over the six heat races in the Brandon Jarsocrak Racing KA100 Senior category, fighting for the 44-spots in the main event. Five drivers won over the six races on the day as Helio Meza (Trinity / Kart Republic) was the only driver to win twice. The 2023 champion returned for his first kart races on the season, qualifying second yesterday. He finished second in the AvsB heat and went on to win the other two motos to secure the pole position for the main event. Top qualifier Jake Drew was top three all day, however, was a DQ in the opening heat for an unsportsmanlike conduct, putting him 31st in that race. Two runner-up results finished the day, slotting him back in 20th for the main event grid. Last year’s Pro Shifter champion AJ Myers (Magik Kart USA), Donovan Bonilla (RPG / Kosmic), Alan Isambard (Sodi Racing USA) and Jesus Vasquez Jr. (TKS / GFC) all won a heat race. Vasquez – who won the TSRS race here two weeks ago, will start from the outside of the front row. Bonilla and Aden Rudolph (CRG Nordam) are slotted in the second row with Cooper Shipman (IRM / Tony Kart) and Blake Nash (Nash / EOS) will go from row three.

Turner Brown has been perfect throughout the weekend in the Speed Concepts Racing X30 Junior category. The RPG / Kosmic driver set fast time in qualifying on Friday, and won all three heat races. Diego Ardiles (RPG / Kosmic) was second in the opening heat, with Enzo Vidmontiene (Trinity / Kart Republic) and Jackson Wolny (SCR / Redspeed) placing runner-up in the other two races. Ardiles will go from the front row with Brown as Wolny and Vidmontiene fill up the second row. Davin Roberts (RPM / Tony Kart) and Victor de Alencar (RPG / Kosmic) complete the third row.

It was four drivers that won over the six heat races in the BBS Race Engines KA100 Junior class. Enzo Vidmontiene (Trinity / Kart Republic) won two of his three heat races as did Turner Brown (RPG / Kosmic). Vidmontiene will start from the pole position while Brown goes from P3 as Heat AvsC winner Sebastian Garzon (Orsolon / Tony Kart) is set to go from the outside of the front row. Brown and heat race winner Diego Ardiles (RPG / Kosmic) start from the second row ahead of Davin Roberts (RPM / Tony Kart) and Payton Westcott (RPG / Kosmic).

The front of the field in the Nash Motorsportz KA100 Masters class is close despite Martin Stone (RPM / Tony Kart) leading the majority of the event. As the fast qualifier on Friday, Stone won the opening two heat races before ending up fourth in the final moto. He still retains the pole position heading into the main event on Sunday. Multi-time TSRS champion Miguel Mier (Orsolon / Tony Kart) won the final heat, and improved from fourth in qualifying to start second in the main event. Adam Crepin (FMS / Gillard) was in the contention all day, and starts the main event from third with Niki Coello (FMS / Merlin). Pierce Baldus (Hi5 / Redspeed) and former series champion Laurentiu Mardan (Tecno Kart USA) start from row three.

Three different drivers won on the day in the Sodi Racing USA Mini Swift category. Nicolas Orbezo (RPG / Kosmic) won the opening heat, plus finished fourth over the last two in order to claim the pole position for the main event. Royce Vega (Team Benik) and Ashton Woon (Supertune USA / Parolin) were the winners in the other two heats. A DNF in the final heat for Vega puts him back in 12th on the main event grid and Woon will join Orbezo on the front row. Valentino Santillian (Sodi Racing USA) and top qualifier Marco Sammut (BJR / LN Racing Kart) are starting from row two as Benja Fernandez (SLA / Kart Republic) and Julian Rivera (RPG / Kosmic) will go from row three.

It was a busy day in the Team Ferris Racing Micro Swift category. In the opening heat race, top qualifier Santiago Orioli (MPG / Kart Republic) suffered a broken throttle cable to put him on the sideline while leading. He returned to win the second heat race and finish third. Zayne Burgess (Sodi Racing USA) was the provisional winner but a penalty took the win away, giving it to Mikey Collins (URACE / Sodi Kart). Wynn Godschalk (Team Benik) won the battle in the final heat race, giving him the points lead after the heat races to start from the pole position. Miguel Saurez (RPG / Kosmic) put in top-five runs to earn the outside front row starting spot with Burgess and Collins filling up row two. Orioli will go from 13th after his DNF in the opening heat race.

Sunday will be the final day of action at the USPKS Texas Grand Prix from Speedsportz. Following warm-up, the B-Main races for KA100 Junior and KA100 Senior will take place and then the Finals for all seven classes to decide the winners of the opening round for the 2024 championship program.